A Running List of Parkour Injuries 

How many small injuries do you currently have? I consider myself to be able bodied but today I tallied up my current scrapes, bangs, and bruises. Parkour training can be tough on the human body! If a car had this many issues I would consider it bust-ass:

  • Two scraped wrists (wall run practice),
  • Lump on my back hip bone (loose parkour roll on a hard surface),

    Wall Run Without Parkour Gloves Injury

    Wall Run Casualties

  • Banged knee (launched a kong too close),
  • Bruised palm knuckles (slammed my hands down too much on kong/dash practice),
  • Bruised balls of my feet (parkour with barefoot shoes),
  • Sore ankle joints (mud hero obstacle race),
  • Scraped knuckle (I don’t even know where this happened).

I wonder: am I old or does everyone have a running tally of small injuries? I mentioned this to Heather and her opinion is that every athlete has this issue … and also that I’m old. This is how you transform from newb to accomplished. As our parkour training continues I expect to have many more small injuries. The human body seems to get stronger when its limits are safely pushed.

So is parkour training worth it? You bet.

About becomingparkour.com

Learn the ups and downs of discovering parkour.

5 responses »

  1. rfljenksy says:

    I’m pretty sure I will not be parkouring but I will definitely enjoy watching it all go down. Yes, I do have a running list of minor to major injuries and that’s why this ol girl will only be watching..

  2. […] injury that prevents training in the usual ways gives opportunity to train in unusual ways. My foot was […]

  3. […] hasn’t gotten any stronger. I also remember times when my early acrobatic experiments didn’t turn out so well: falling down the stairs, jumping over the bed instead of on it, and so […]

Leave a Reply

