Fight Club and Parkour

Parkour Training Wall Shouldice Park Calgary

Tims First Wall Run – Shouldice Park, Calgary

I am Tim’s lack of concentration. Today, while sitting in a meeting thinking about my bruised shoulder, I had a thought; Fight Club and parkour are similar. In the movie “Fight Club” Edward Norton, suffering from insomnia, learns how to fight and it begins to change how he looks at life. I can relate to this as I begin to learn parkour. In meetings I sit and see groups of people discussing topic that sometimes seem trivial to me; and I think about how I could be practicing parkour. I think about how the sun is shining and I am not outdoors experiencing my surroundings … I think about how I could kong the meeting room table.

“Man, I see in fight club the strongest and smartest men who’ve ever lived. I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars.”

Growing up with computers and television makes it easy to become sedentary. Easy to forget what it feels like to exercise your physical capabilities. Practicing parkour, like most sports, can bring that back into your life. The reason success feels so good in physical activity is because you have learned what failure feels like. The aches and pains I experience while learning and training for parkour reset my mind to what is important in life. The bruises I have are badges of honour that I want to proudly display. When I’m sore I know why, and it connects me physically to life .

“This is your pain. This is your burning hand. It’s right here. Look at it.”

I am Tim’s new perspective. I still do the things required for my work, I still like my work. I am also experiencing a priority shift. Interacting with my environment, not just passing through, is something I crave. This will pass and there will be a time when interaction with my environment is a requirement. How will this affect my work? I’m not sure; until then I’ll have to settle for the odd office palm spin when no one is looking.

About becomingparkour.com

Learn the ups and downs of discovering parkour.

One response »

  1. […] the warm, sore feeling you have after exercising is yours to embrace. It means you worked your butt off. Good […]

Leave a Reply

