Hurt? How to Train With An Injury

The hypocritical statement “Do as I say, not as I do” comes to mind when thinking of my recent parkour injury. My body hinted that my foot needed rest, but my ego kept me practicing. The result of not slowly adapting to impact: a hairline fracture in my foot that will keep me “benched” for two months … or will it?

Merrell Barefoot Trail Glove Parkour Shoes

Merrell Barefoot Trail Glove Shoes

An injury that prevents parkour training in the usual ways gives opportunity to train in unusual ways. My foot was injured overtraining high impact jumps. Frustrating, but now I have the perfect excuse to focus on areas I don’t usually train. Overcoming obstacles is fundamental to parkour and mental obstacles such as injuries will only stop you if you let them.

‘Time off’ from an injury can be used for cross training or conditioning. Have you been guilty of practicing ‘fun’ moves and neglecting ‘boring’ ones? Recall old parkour training sessions and you may find you can round out your skills by alternating the focus of your training.

What will I do during my recovery? Over the next two months my goal is to bring my parkour roll up to snuff. I’ve avoided practicing the sometimes painful parkour roll and focused on vaulting. To mix my training sessions up (and to save my shoulder from over-use) I’ll be sure to practice balance moves and handstands. Seeing another traceur start the 100 push up challenge has also inspired me to complete a conditioning goal: a 25 pull up challenge (pull up – palms forward, chin up – palms facing you). This will improve my wall top ups and muscle ups.

An injury is frustrating, but when it happens it doesn’t need to stop your parkour training. Get creative and turn it into an opportunity! Parkour is about being creative with your skills and surroundings. When something changes you adapt, and your experience as a traceur is better for it.

About becomingparkour.com

Learn the ups and downs of discovering parkour.

3 responses »

  1. […] plenty of obstacles and are especially forgiving when you land. We’ve recently been practicing low impact activities, including rolls. When practicing our rolls on grass we didn’t train them very often. […]

  2. […] A last word of advice: if you get too hot, stop and remove a layer of clothing. Sweating will leave you damp and cold once you stop exercising. When you do stop, take the time to warm up again as cold muscles invite injury. […]

  3. […] life throws a curveball and, to be successful, you’ll need to adapt. Your goals will change for parkour injuries, the weather, different seasons, or simply some exciting […]

Leave a Reply

