Becoming Parkour In Twenty Twelve

Parkour Girl Wall Spin Calgary

Our favourite parkour photo of 2012

It was a grand idea: let’s learn parkour. A year ago we started our journey to learn parkour and now it is New Year’s Day; a time for looking back on the last 365 days. What did introducing parkour into our lives accomplish?

Blogging: An unexpected side effect of learning parkour, and a positive one! Blogging has improved our photography skills, non-technical writing abilities, and understanding of web technologies. Blogging has also exposed us to many new topics via other interesting bloggers.

A New View: This has come threefold. One – We gained parkour vision which lets us really see our environment. Two – Relearning to play has occasionally left us on the ‘wrong’ side of building security. We are now not as quick to judge people acting outside of social norms. Three – Watching an action movie is very different after practicing parkour: we constantly judge the stunts.

Skills: With surprising little practice, once difficult kong, dash, kash, and wall spins have become enjoyable activities. When we practice other parkour moves we know that these will also come to be second nature in time.

Injuries: Very few. Practice and repetition leads to performing moves safely. Injuries occur when pushing too far beyond your skills. The worst we’ve received over the last year: a bloody toe, banged hips, and a sprained shoulder. Not bad for 30 hours of outdoor practice.

Good People: The Calgary parkour community is filled with positive people. We always enjoy meetings with other traceurs.

We’ve learned a lot in the past year, and next year will bring new learnings. Finding time to practice is always our biggest challenge; with Tim leaving for Ghana in August things will be even busier. It should be an interesting 2013!

About becomingparkour.com

Learn the ups and downs of discovering parkour.

11 responses »

  1. Casie says:

    Happy new year!!! 🙂

    • Mahesh says:

      Aw, this was a really qluiaty post. In theory I’d like to write like this too taking time and real effort to make a good article but what can I say I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get something done.

    • Denice says:

      Thanks so much for giving eynevore such a marvellous opportunity to check tips from here. It’s usually so good plus packed with a lot of fun for me and my office mates to search your web site at the least three times every week to read through the fresh items you have got. And lastly, we are usually fulfilled with all the powerful things served by you. Some 3 facts in this posting are indeed the most efficient we have ever had.

    • Dear Prof. Haran:Nice to see the invitation. This initiative in extending warm welcome to join hands in person and mae the global level delibrations is yet another proof to demonstrate your love for the languaage and concern for the community. In fact, I felt happy as if it was an invitation extended by the organisers of the gala event directly. Besides, this enables to impress my people at home to organize my travel arrangement to attend the forthcoming event being heard as rumour for the last couple of months. Through you, I seize this opportunity to thank the organizing committe to have thought of such an event. It’ll undoubtly be a meaningful celebrations for young and old alike who would attend from different parts globally.I pray Almighty to make the event a grand success and purposeful. In all probability, my sincere desire in attending the same would become a reality for as a person, I’m for meeting and greeting of everyone of our COMMUNITY.My regards to all. Look forward to meeting you at the venue.Rajamani, Bengaluru

    • Just confirmed that the man apparently was trying to jump from one 4 story building to another, missed, and landed on his head. Our prayers go out to the 19 year old MCC student and his family.For everyone else. Let’s be safe. It’s probably the best natural, full body workout, but it’s no fun if we’re in the hospital. This sport is a meant to be a discipline where in we train to be more useful to our fellow man, our family, and to ourselves because of our training. Parkour philosophy of the founders: “be strong, be useful.” It’s not about show boating. Not to diminish this man, but what was the point of that 4 story jump? Was someone chasing him? It certainly wasn’t training. Training wouldn’t dictate that you do that. I’m sure he could have done the same distance from a significantly lower jump and it would have looked just as cool and been much safer.While we do feel terrible for this man, we want to make sure people don’t try this again. Watch some of the parkour philosophy videos to get an understanding of what this sport is all about. Notice the big difference between the french founders and some of the American philosophies. Americans tend to want to push the limits. The founders wanted to work within their abilities. It was about being a better you. Then, notice the direction that even the second generation yamakasi have been going with more aesthetically pleasing moves from the media attention. I have always felt the way the founders do, train to be useful, strong, able to survive…not to show off. Again, I don’t want to sound insensitive to the tempe man, but I do hope we can keep something like this from happening in the phoenix metroplex again. Although realistically, we probably won’t.

  2. Your progress in such a short space of time is amazing!

    I have set 4 goals for this year, I hope to achieve the first 2 before June:

    1. Rolling across a bridge in the park where I train (this scares me at the moment even though the drop isn’t even 2 metres if I fall off). I have progressed to rolling over a box the same width so this should be easy to do soon.

    2. Tic-tac to Cat – I’m getting there…

    3. Kong – that damn kong… still struggling to get my legs between my arms, at this point I can do kind of a sideways one on a low vault box.

    4. Balance! Balance! Balance! (the bane of my practice)

    I bet there are people doing parkour in Ghana… good luck for the rest of the year 🙂

    • You’ve made some great progress this year too! It’s so important to have goals, then it’s great when you achieve them. 🙂 Let’s both work on goals for the new year! Now we just have to set some…

  3. […] Becoming Parkour In Twenty Twelve (becomingparkour.com) […]

    • Bal says:

      :ahh where would we be without our mlebois ?Unleashed! Great photo my friend. I guess I’m a bit of a technological rebel, in that I refuse to own a cell phone of any type. Mind you I LOVE my computers so much that I build my own.

Leave a Reply

